Wedding Countdown Ticker

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Trip to Charlotte & Valentine's Day

Mom and I took a trip on Monday to Charlotte to see Aunt Mamie (who was recently diagnosed with Alzheimers) and MawMaw.  We left around 8:15 or so from Moms house.  Around 9 am or so we got a call from MawMaw asking where we were.  We told her and she responded telling us that Aunt Mamie had gotten up that morning at 6:30 (she slept for two days straight prior to us coming), got a bath, got dressed, and was sitting by the window watching for us to get there.  I thought my heart was going to bust!  I could just see here sitting there by the window waiting patiently for us.  Of course I told Mom she needed to drive faster, but who was I kidding!  =)  We finally got there, I won't even mention the trip to Bilo to get her some flowers, and Aunt Mamie was standing at the door to greet us.  This made us feel much better!  We proceeded inside to chat and catch up.

MawMaw and I left Mom and Aunt Mamie at the house to entertain each other while we went on a lunch run.  MawMaw took me by the airport to see the Rousch (sp?) Racing plane and I pretended to know who they were and why they were important!  HA!  We drove around the airport and got lost and had a blast.  We got back to the house and everybody ate lunch...I can still taste that Almond Cream Cheese Pound Cake.

Then, Jennifer came over and told us she had a friend that works at the Wilson Air Center FBO in Charlotte and that she could take us for a tour of the facility.  I was stoked!!  Jennifer, Mom, and I went to the airport for our tour and had an absolute blast!  I wish I would have had a video camera on Mom.  It was so cute!  I could talk about this experience for hours so I won't bore you.  What it comes down to is that I talked April's head off and we grilled each other about our Aviation knowledge.  It was great!

Then it was time for Mom and I to come home.  We were stuck in Charlotte traffic so we were chatting and entertaining each other.  We talked about the little things that Aunt Mamie had said throughout the day that made us laugh and about my awesome phone call with Elaine.  Overall it was a very entertaining ride home full of laughter and giggles.

I came home that evening to dinner waiting for me.  Grilled tenderloin that could melt in your mouth, mashed potatoes, and green beans.  My honey did good!!  We enjoyed dinner, took a romantic bubble bath, and headed to bed.

Overall, the day couldn't have been any better.

Now, it's back to the work grind and getting things done.  I guess that's life!  =)

Saturday, February 12, 2011

Sour apple in every bunch...

So apparantly there's a lot of people out there that don't support the fact that I'm marrying Stacey.  Yes, he's a lot older than me.  Yes, he has a past. And Yes, I love him and am going to marry him.  If things don't work out, then it's all on me.  I'll never know if we'll make it or not, until we try.  So I must say that it greatly saddens me to know that members of my family are turning their backs on me because of what they've "heard"...especially when they don't even know him...they have maybe seen him once, and they had already made their decision about him before he got there.  Then they approach me about it...after of course spreading rumors like wildfire throughout the rest of the family...and say things to me that are completely out of line.  But they won't listen to me about anything...which isn't fair because I can't defend his honor or mine this way.  I even considered calling off the wedding because of these situations and he and I just take off to Myrtle Beach and get married that way.  Then I thought, why should I deprive myself of a wedding the way that I want it.  I haven't had my wedding planned since I was a little girl like some people, but I do have dreams about it...and I should be able to fulfill those dreams.  So this is what I have to say, you may not agree with me marrying him, but you will not disrespect either of us any longer.  If you don't want to be apart of his life, then you will no longer be a part of mine.  It's not fair to him or me to be humiliated for no reason at all.  I won't say anymore on this matter.  The choice is yours.

On another note, I am on day shift this week...meaning I have to be up at 3:30 am and be at work by 6.  This morning it was sooo hard to get up and get moving.  I went straight for the coffee pot.  Now, in my house Stacey is the coffee man.  I never make it.  I thought he put four tablespoons of coffee grounds in the maker...so I decided to go seriously strong and put five.  It woke me up!  =)  I called Stacey just a little bit ago to learn he was washing his truck.  He sounded extra "spunky" this morning.  I started talking about the coffee and hesitantly asked him if he liked the coffee this morning.  He says "Yeaaa...why??".  So I tell him that I made it a little stronger then I thought he normally does...and I asked him how much he generally uses.  He told me he always puts three tablespoons...which leads me to bust out laughing.  He asked me how many I used...and I told him five.  He starts laughing and says that explains why he was swaying back and forth on the couch and couldn't be still. I figure I might do this coffee trick more often...maybe my house will also be clean when I get home...hmm...  =)

Have a great day everyone...I'm ready to get off work at 2 and head home.  It's been a LONG week!!!

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Wedding Madness

So I've decided to do some blogging.  Don't know if anyone will care to read or respond...but I figured what the heck, we'll give it a whirl.  =)

So I have this wedding to plan before November...it's so much harder than I thought it would be.  We finally set a date...I picked out the colors for the guys and ladies...and as of yesterday I know who all is going to be in the wedding party...well except for a couple (HAHA!).  That's as far as I've gotten.  I have no clue where we're having the wedding...no clue about the reception...and no clue when I'm going to have the time to figure it all out.  I guess it'll all come together at some point.  I keep going to our wedding website (I'll post the web address here later) and it has a countdown thingy on it and every day that it gets less I freak a little more.  Oh well...I'm sure we'll work it out.

On another note...it was snowing like crazy this morning when I left the house at 5am.  I can't believe all of the snow we've had this winter.  Makes me nervous to be planning a wedding for this upcoming November...especially since every winter seems to keep getting worse and worse.  Maybe we shouldn't have an outdoor wedding after all??

Anywho, I've run out of topics for the moment.  =)  Talk to ya'll soon!